Derwent Reservoir Long Run

20140312-075246.jpg

POST SILVERSTONE!!

Well the photo above was took by hubby at mile 7ish!!! I think I look pretty good! My runners high from silverstone lasted all Sunday into my rest day in Monday and then …. crash!!!! Sandie was TIRED! I had given silverstone all my effort I forgot I had to train for the rest of the week! Family and things got on top on Tuesday so I decided to give myself an extra day off before doing 10 miles on Wednesday before seeing another PB of the week in Thursday when I ran by usual club 6 miles at 9:10 pace (I’m normally no faster than 9:40)! This was followed by another PB at Sheffield Hallam parkrun (fantastic parkrun to do)! So pretty good week running!

Sunday run!!!

Now my problem for the weekend was we were visiting family in sheffield – I had – 18 miles to do and didn’t know where to go!! So hubby decided to take me to derwent reservoir – I could run and him and his brother could do some fitness of their own! Perfect!

Woke up …. A perfect day for running! Sun was out and lovely and fresh! I even run in a t-shirt!!

As we arrived I was worried about getting lost, collapsing , not being able to finish!! So hubby asked a man out walking how far the run was! His reply was “run round derwent it’s 10 miles, run round derwent AND ladybower and it’s 15 ish”.

Nervous!!

SO because I felt nervous about my new run I decided to leave my water with the lads and run the 10 mile route …. Twice (but meeting at the car which would make 18 miles)! So off I went!

Lost …..

Well the plan went wrong! I ended up running both reservoirs ….. With no water! It’s sheffield area so bloody hilly (I live in Oxfordshire – hills are non existent)! The only thing that kept me going …. The views …..

20140312-080236.jpg

I actually think this was my favourite run EVER!!!

It was beautiful, everyone was friendly and said Hi … I was more impressed that I passed a man on mile 3 running the other way that I then passed again near the end …. And he looked how I felt!! As we passed a smile and a few … “Good effort” comments I lifted my chest high determined to finish the last few miles!!!

By the time I met Tim … He said “where have you been … Do you still need to do another lap” – I could kill him! But instead I gasped for water! Thank goodness I had taken my gels with me!

I had managed to RUN the full 18 without stopping at pace I was very very happy with!! Training for bournmouth last year I struggled with these long runs and never completed anything over 15 miles without walking for a while!

Happy with training …

So I’m still happy with how training is going! Only 8 weeks to go …. The next 6 weeks being the toughest on my programme!! I just keep thinking of the feeling of crossing that line …. And all this tiredness, effort, dedication and commitment will be worth it!

This weeks lessons ..

1. Yorkshire is beautiful to run in …. Highly recommend this run!!

2. Don’t leave your water behind …. It’s important!

3. Love SiS gels …. Can really feel them work!

20140312-080957.jpg

Where is your favourite run??

Love Sandie xx

2 thoughts on “Derwent Reservoir Long Run

  1. Great stuff! Well done…

    I really like Derwent and Ladybower. I haven’t brought myself to run round them both yet but I did the 10 (though I hope the walker was slightly out – I tracked it at 11miles when we went round) with a few friends, I was way off pace and it was one of those runs where I could tell the people I was running with wanted to up the pace but I just couldn’t do it. One of the guys even gave me some of his gels to keep me going (unlike you, I had water but nothing extra!) It was icy as well but still fantastic.

    I think it is up there as my favourite place to run though I’m not too well travelled when it comes to running locations.

    My aim is to go out with them again in the next couple of months and hope I can keep below 10min/miles for the distance.

    I really like the fact you’re becoming a Park Run Tourist! How many locations have you done a Park Run?

    1. The walker was well out! I started at slippery stones and run back to meet Tim and andy there … And needed to run another 3 miles … So full way was 15!!

      I’ve done oxford, Milton Keynes, hillsborough and sheffield hallam parkruns! I want to visit more though and have a few in mind to visit locally!

      I love running in new places … Keeps it exciting!!

Leave a Reply

