10 mile reflection

20140112-221929.jpg

20140112-221941.jpg

First ever race …

These pictures are of me pre and post The great south run 2009! The race I trained for when I started running!

Today I thought a Lot about that race! Today was long run day in marathon training and I had to run 10 miles …. The same distance I trained for that first race!

It hit me …. Today I had no trouble or worries or concerns about reaching that distance! But back then …. I remember running my final long training run of 8 miles …. I was so nervous and so excited about doing those 8 but worried if I would ever manage the full 10!? I did of course … I completed it in 1 hour 52 minutes … A time I am still pretty proud of!

Today’s effort ….

20140112-222409.jpg

The picture of my watch after today’s run!! This “training” 10 miles turned out quicker than my race pace back in 2009. Although that doesn’t shock me (in fact I think something had gone seriously wrong if I wasn’t quicker) It did made me think of my progression! I’ve come a long way!

progression 1. speed training …. I LOVE IT! Short sharp sessions when I feel like I want to die! Before …. I would do anything to avoid getting out of breath … I liked a long slow bimble run!

progression 2. I can run without music! In fact sometimes the music gets into my head too much and it annoys me! I ran my last 2 races without my iPod and surprised myself I could keep going! A good friend of mine used to tell people I was the most unsocial person running wise and I would run “with” people but always have my earphones in!!

Which leads nicely into

progression 3.Running with people! That friend that grumbles about my headphone wearing never ran with me! I hardly ever run with anyone … I ran alone! Since Bournemouth marathon and joining the running club …. I have found a new love for company on the move! But what amazes me even more … I can run quicker …. And talk …. And enjoy it … When I have good company! So for getting me around today at a quicker pace than I had planned …. Thank you to my lovely running friends for a wonderful run and catch up
On a cold Sunday morning!

So 5 years of on and off running I am now addicted! Addicted to pace, distance, routes and running kit! My day revolves around when I am going for my daily session with the pavement! I look back at me running that first 10 miles and I thank her for her commitment …. Because by lacing up those trainers then …. Has led me to my training today!

Bring it on Milton Keynes … That sub 4:30 marathon is mine!!

Leave a Reply

